giovedì 5 marzo 2015

Euro Cup 2014-2015 Semifinals

For the first time since the 2002-2003 season two teams from the same country will battle for the Euro Cup. And after Brescia and Florentia did so back then, this season again two Italian teams will have the honour. Even more unique, two squads from the same city got onto the finals on Wednesday holding on in their respective semifinals leg 2. And that just happened once before, back in 1997 when Budapest based Újpest and Ferencváros squared off for the title. Both Posillipo and Acquachiara saw their important victories in leg 1 not endangered in the return matches on Wednesday as they secured their spots in the Euro Cup finals, to be played 28 March and 11 April. Posillipo came out strong at home in the first half to beat Steaua Bucharest 8-5, while Acquachiara drew level with Mornar in Croatia 7-7 but enjoyed a comfortable 4-goal advantage from leg 1 so knew that their finals berth was virtually secured. Both teams make their debut and thus could win their first Euro Cup, although Posillipo holds a rich history that includes 3 European titles (1997, 1998, 2005) and 2 Cup Winners' Cups (1988, 2003).

Leg 2

Wednesday, 4 March

C.N. Posillipo (ITA) vs. Steaua Bucharest (ROU) 8-5 (3-1, 2-0, 2-2, 1-2)
Posillipo scorers: Paride Saccoia 3, Valentino Gallo  2, Aleksandar Radovic, Vincenzo Renzuto Iodice, Jacopo Mandolini.

Steaua scorers: Mihnea Chioveanu 2, Daniel Teohari, Matej Nastran, Miroslav Randic.

Mornar BS (CRO) vs. Carpisa Yamamay Acquachiara (ITA) 7-7 (1-1, 1-3, 3-2, 2-1)
Mornar scorers: Ivan Domagoj Zovic 2, Rino Buric 2, Maroje Gluhaic, Jure Marelja, Marin Ban.

Acquachiara scorers: Stefano Luongo 2, Amaurys Perez, Fran Paskvalin, Antonio Petkovic, Giacomo Lanzoni, Luca Marziali.


Leg 1
28 March, 2015

Leg 2

11 April, 2015

Leg 1 results

Wednesday, 11 February

Steaua Bucharest (ROU) vs. C.N. Posillipo (ITA) 6-8 (0-1, 3-3, 2-3, 1-1)
Steaua scorers: Petar Filipovic 3, Nicolae Diaconu, Mihnea Chioveanu, Miroslav Randic.

Posillipo scorers: Aleksandar Radovic 3, Valentino Gallo 2, Vincenzo Dolce, Filip Klikovac, Paride Saccoia.

Carpisa Yamamay Acquachiara (ITA) vs. Mornar BS (CRO) 15-11 (6-2, 4-2, 3-2, 2-5)
Acquachiara scorers Antonio Petkovic 5, Fran Paskvalin 4, Giuseppe Valentino 2, Amaurys Perez, Stefano Luongo, Matteo Astartita, Matteo Gitto.

Mornar scorers: Jerko Marinic Kragic 3, Duje Lusic 2, Rino Buric 2, Ante Corusic, Slavko Calic, Jure Marelja, Marin Ban.

0 commenti:

Posta un commento