giovedì 23 aprile 2015

Euro League up for grabs

Coming into the battle of the 4 best women's sides in Europe, it looks certain that the dominance we have seen by Spanish champions Sabadell in winning the Euro League the past two editions will not be the same this year. As the Euro League Final Four gets underway in Athens, Greece on Friday last year's LEN Trophy winners Olympiacos are definitely another major title contender and straight away will face another one in recent Russian champions Kinef Kirishi. It marks the first of two semifinals in Piraeus where title holders Sabadell are up next battling Hungarian top team UVSE. A familiar match-up as both teams already met in the preliminary round group A in Lille, France where Sabadell comfortable noted a 14-9 victory mid-January. But the Hungarian squad impressively knocked off Padova in the quarterfinals showing off their potential to the rest of the field. Sabadell are aware of the potential danger and acknowledge the opposition is perhaps even harder than the previous editions of the battle for the European championships for club teams. The same goes for the highly anticipated battle of hosts Olympiacos and Kirishi in the first semifinal. A close field full of contenders are expected to make this year's Final Four an attractive event as ever. With the outcome simply hard to predict.

Euro League 2014-2015
Final Four

Athens (GRE)

Friday, 24 April


18.30: Olympiacos SFP (GRE) vs. Kinef Kirishi (RUS)
20.15: UVSE (HUN) vs. CN Sabadell (ESP)

Saturday, 25 April

18.30: Match for 3rd/4th place
20.15: Match for 1st/2nd place

N.b.: time mentioned is local time.

Previous winners

1987 - Donk Gouda (NED)
1989 - Donk Gouda (NED)
1990 - Nereus (NED)
1991 - Donk Gouda (NED)
1992 - Brandenburg (NED)
1993 - Szentesi (HUN)
1994 - Orizzonte Catania (ITA)
1995 - Nereus (NED)
1996 - Nereus (NED)
1997 - SKIF Moscow (RUS)
1998 - Orizzonte Catania (ITA)
1999 - SKIF Moscow (RUS)
2000 - Glyfada (GRE)
2001 - Orizzonte Catania (ITA)
2002 - Orizzonte Catania (ITA)
2003 - Glyfada (GRE)
2004 - Orizzonte Catania (ITA)
2005 - Orizzonte Catania (ITA)
2006 - Orizzonte Catania (ITA)
2007 - Fiorentina (ITA)
2008 - Orizzonte Catania (ITA)
2009 - Vouliagmeni NC (GRE)
2010 - Vouliagmeni NC (GRE)
2011 - CN Sabadell (ESP)
2012 - Pro Recco  (ITA)
2013 - CN Sabadell (ESP)
2014 - CN Sabadell (ESP)

0 commenti:

Posta un commento