giovedì 9 aprile 2015

Imperia, Italy: Final Four LEN Trophy to remain in Greek hands?

Imperia is set to host the finals of the battle for the LEN Trophy where the Euro League quarterfinals losing sides face off for the Europe's 2nd tier trophy in women's club water polo. The field of participants is completely different from last year's battle, won by Olympiacos, hosts of the Euro League Final Four later this April. Based on the recent quarterfinal results Greek side Vouliagmeni could be considered favourite for the trophy. A close match-up with Russian champions Kirishi was lost by 'just' 3 goals overall (9-10 leg 1, 8-6 leg 2). Another team in advantage will be hosts Imperia who get to play the big semifinal match-up versus Hungarian champions Szentes on Friday in front of the home crowd. The Italians stunned European champions Sabadell in the quarterfinals leg 1 by drawing level 8-8 but had to swallow a big 13-5 defeat in Barcelona in the return match. Szentes meanwhile were eliminated for the Euro League title by Olympiacos who simply proved too strong winning both match-ups (10-6 and 10-15). Outsiders Padova won their preliminary round group, after beating Imperia 5-15 but could not continue their successful stretch as new Hungarian top side UVSE decided things in the first leg in Italy by winning 7-13. And after losing the return match 9-7 in Hungary, the Italians will now be hoping to draw a relatively large group of fans in their home country as they have the daunting task of stopping Vouliagmeni in its quest to keep the LEN Trophy in Greek hands. 


Friday, 10 April

19.30: Plebiscito Padova (ITA) vs. Vouliagmeni NC (GRE)
21.00: Hungerit Szentesi (HUN) vs. Mediterranea Imperia (ITA)


Saturday, 11 April

N.b.: All times mentioned are local time.

Previous winners

2000 - GIFA Palermo (ITA)
2001 - SKIF Moscow (RUS)
2002 - GIFA Palermo (ITA)
2003 - Vouliagmeni NC (GRE)
2004 - Ortigia (ITA)
2005 - Ortigia (ITA)
2006 - Honvéd (HUN)
2007 - Roma (ITA)
2008 - Roma (ITA)
2009 - Shturm Chekhov (RUS)
2010 - Ethnikos Piraeus (GRE)
2011 - Rapallo (ITA)
2012 - Imperia (ITA)
2013 - Shturm Ruza (RUS)
2014 - Olympiacos SFP (GRE)

0 commenti:

Posta un commento