martedì 30 settembre 2014

FINA Best Player of the Year nominees announced


FINA and its Aquatics World Magazine have announced the nominees for the 2014 FINA Best Player Awards in all disciplines on Tuesday after the magazine's 2014/5 issue was presented online. Two male and one female player can reach the unique feature of winning the award for the 2nd time and in case of Hungary's Denes Varga (pictured), for the 2nd straight time, as both Varga brothers, 2011 winner Filip Filipovic as well as 2012 World Player of the Year Maggie Steffens are among the nominees for the 2014 edition of the election. This year's setup however is different from the previous ones as the winners will receive their award at a special awards ceremony in Doha, Qatar ahead of the World Swimming Championships (25m) set to start 3 December. Also the voting has been trimmed down to just the FINA Member Federations and everyone who holds a FINA position where in previous years a selected group of media could also cast their vote.

The 2014 FINA Best Player of the Year water polo nominees are:


- Bret Bonanni (USA)
- Filip Filipovic (SRB)
- Dusan Mandic (SRB)
- Gojko Pijetlovic (SRB)
- Daniel Varga (HUN)
- Denes Varga (HUN)


- Kami Craig (USA)
- Maica Garcia (ESP)
- Giulia Gorlero (ITA)
- Rita Keszthelyi (HUN)
- Maggie Steffens (USA)
- Rowie Webster (AUS)

Previous winners:

Men: Vanja Udovicic (SRB)
women: Elizabeth Armstrong (USA)

Men: Filip Filipovic (SRB)
women: Alexandra Asimaki (GRE)

Men: Josip Pavic (CRO)
women: Maggie Steffens (USA)

Men: Denes Varga (HUN)
women: Jennifer Pareja (ESP)

0 commenti:

Posta un commento